Your Bag(0)

Your cart is empty - let us help you get what you need.

Recommended For You

10 Easy Ways to Unblock Your Chakra | The 7 Chakras

Yoga is more than just staying in shape. It’s designed to offer inner transcendence, so it’s critical to learn about how yoga interacts with your chakras to get the most out of future sessions.

What are Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or “cycle.” There are seven main chakras located along people’s spines, and it’s believed they provide subtle energy to aid in the mind and organs. Many New Age styles of thought center on chakras to aid in inner peace. 

What are the 7 Chakras?

There are seven chakras located from the base of the spine to the skull. Each one serves a specific purpose.

Root Chakra

The root chakra is found at the base of your spine. Appropriately enough, it aids with the foundation of your life, keeping you grounded so that you’re better suited for withstanding hardships. It aids in your sense of stability and security.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is found near the heart in the center of your chest. It opens you up to love and allows you to show greater compassion to others. 

Solar Heart Chakra

The solar heart chakra lies in the stomach. It oversees your self-esteem and confidence, allowing you to feel more in control of your life. 

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is found just underneath the belly button. It oversees both creative and sexual energies, and it’s linked to how you handle your emotions. 

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is found between your eyes. It’s responsible for giving you strong instincts found in the gut. It’s linked to intuition and imagination, allowing your mind to truly free itself. 

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is found at the very top of your head. It represents your spiritual connection to yourself, other people, and the universe at large. It allows you to navigate your life’s purpose. 

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is found in the throat and allows you to better communicate with others.

How to Know If Your Chakra is Blocked

Many people may feel out of a funk without knowing why. You may have trouble making decisions or lash out at others. 

Occasionally, you may feel badly about yourself or exhibit traits of procrastination and apathy. It’s dangerous because you open yourself up to being taken advantage of by others.

How to Unblock Your Chakra

Blocked chakras are ultimately a result of not getting enough energy to each of your respective chakras. You need to open them up in order to feel at peace with yourself, and there are many ways to go about that. 

1. Maintain a Healthy Diet

Eating foods high in sugar and fats will make you feel sluggish over time. It also takes a toll on your overall health, which causes stress. Instead, you should look into eating more fruits and vegetables, which, in turn, give you more energy to go about your day. 

2. Do a Variety of Yoga Poses for Each Chakra

Different yoga poses are great for opening each chakra. For example, the horse pose and balancing table pose are recommended when you want to work on your sacral chakra. 

3. Use Essential Oils

Some people rely on aromatherapy to get their chakras balanced once again. Essential oils help recalibrate your body’s energy centers so peace and tranquility flow smoothly. 

4. Perform Mantras After Yoga

Yoga is more than just exercise. It’s a way to reset your mind and emotions. After yoga for core, you should spend some time with your eyes closed reciting whatever message you need to tell yourself at that moment. Repeat it a few times to where it stays in your head the rest of the day.

5. Practice Meditation

There’s so much going on in today’s world, it’s good to recenter yourself from time to time. Take 10 or 15 minutes out of the day to sit in a quiet spot. Close your eyes and free your mind of all thought. It can help you destress and not focus on all of the worries of the world for a moment.

6. Spend Time Outdoors

Similarly, people today spend far too much time inside. Don’t forget to get out in the sun, even if it’s only for a 30 minute walk around the block.

7. Practice Proper Breathing

Meditation can serve as a time where you focus on just your breathing. With your mouth closed, slowly breathe in through your nose, feeling your abdomen rise.

Breathe out slowly through your lips as they’re pursed. Repeat this for 10 minutes to help recenter your lungs. 

8. Burn Incense

Incense is commonly used in New Age practices. It helps cleanse a room, filling it with a pleasing aroma. It’s particularly useful if you don’t want to apply essential oils to the skin if it’s too sensitive. 


Lindberg, Sara. “What Are the 7 Chakras and How Can You Unblock Them?” Healthline, 24 Aug. 2020.

WebMD Editorial Contributors. “What Are Chakras?” WebMD, 28 Jun. 2021.